“Grafter”

A smoke stricken filled room
Sleeves rolled up and a look of gloom
Toiling in dirt and grime
Yet I have not committed any crime
Days roll into weeks into years
Wasted broken hands brings tears
Little reward such as paying bills
8 hours of no thrills
I’m glad I took my cog away
My head feels better as I lay
The world still spins without me
Freedom yes freedom is the key
No cash required to see a magic moment appear
I now look forward battling a new year
Mitch Hicks – U.K.
All Rights Reserved
© 2009
2 Responses to ““Grafter””

  1. Brilliant find, masterful poem.

  2. Absolutely fabulous image and text!! The poem squeezes us… but at last the light comes on. Thanks for posting this.

Leave a Reply

