Whitechaple in need

DSCF4258cSometimes when I’m walking the streets of London snapping art my knees get so stiff and the feet grow tired. Time to make my way to Whitechapel Gallery and sit in the same small room that is always showing  arty films.  I never know  what will be showing but I slip my shoes off slouch back and consume the dark room trying to make head to tail on what is being shown… I rarely stay longer than 15 minutes but it’s a great way to chill out in what is nearly always an empty space of sound and flickering images.

I mention this as on my last trip to London I snapped the head of a woman internet content moderator from an international film made by Eva & Franco Mattes in 2015. Their  artwork “Dark Content Episodes 1, 2, 3”   explores both ethical and moral issues around the web in a series of videos showing the faces and voices of internet content moderators. Very much an invisible army responsible for removing offensive material from websites… As I left the Whitechapel Gallery I walked across the road to re-snap a paste-up piece of artwork that caught my eye from the last time I saw it.. The paste-up was starting to show wear and I like that better than when I first snapped it quite new.. Not sure who the artist is but may have been by the street artist Endless.. Having reviewed my days snaps over the weekend I decided to make the headless paste-up come to life with the head of the lady snapped from the film plus another snap of a blurred background! The result is the above collage… Is it art or crap?

 Comment & collage snap by Mitch Hicks

2 Responses to “Whitechaple in need”

  1. Art! I didn’t even think it was a collage as they go together so neatly. And an enjoyable glimpse into your London adventures.

  2. So kind of you Tanya to comment…. Many thanks indeed!!

Leave a Reply

